Cupcakemomma's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

There’s always room for Jell-O (or is there?!) June 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — cupcakemomma @ 9:18 PM

So I found out that Jello will not work when it comes to flavoring icing! So, this week I wanted to experiment with Watermelon flavor. No one sells a watermelon extract, so I thought, hmmm…how to get the watermelon flavor. A real watermelon lacks the amount of flavor I desire and well, nothing else quite came to mind. Then it hit me while grocery shopping! Jello! So, they didn’t have a straight watermelon flavor, but the did have a melon mix, that was watermelon, honeydew and cantaloupe I think.  So, I bought it, and mixed it in my batch of icing.  Ugh, I don’t know about you, but I do not want to have to chew my icing…and this made it gritty and I felt like I had to chew it…gross.  So then, I thought, ok, I will dissolve it in a little water so I keep the big flavor, not to watered down…nope.  Not working.  It made it too diluted in taste and made my icing way to runny to pipe.  So, back to square one.  I am sure I can find some watermelon flavor online somewhere, so I am going to search, because how great would that flavor be for the summer?!.  So, now I know, even though there’s always room for Jell-O, it may not be in the icing!  I’ll stick with vodka!-the only good thing you can possibly mix with Jell-o!

 

Leave a Reply

